My name is Tony Richards and when I turned 40 years old I began having unusual health symptoms including a powerful thirst and numbness in my hands. I went to see my doctor and after running tests he determined that I had diabetes. My doctor prescribed medicine for my condition and he also told me to make some lifestyle changes or the diabetes would get worse. I didn't want that to happen so I began researching ways to control diabetes. After implementing these ideas, my condition actually got better and I was able to reduce the amount of medication I was taking. If your doctor has diagnosed you with diabetes, it's very beneficial for you to read my blog so your condition doesn't worsen. I hope that by following this blog, it will help you to control your diabetes too.
If you have been a vegetarian for most of your life and you were just diagnosed with celiac disease, then you may be worried that your already limited food options will become even more limited. You may wonder if you can even pull off both of these dietary restrictions together at all. The good news is that many vegetarians also live a gluten-free lifestyle, so it is very possible. Follow these tips to transform your eating habits without feeling quite so restricted in your menu options.
1. Gluten-free is Far from Carbohydrate-free
As a vegetarian, carbohydrates may have always been easy options to choose at meals instead of meat. While most bread and pasta will be off-limits when following your new gluten-free diet, these carbohydrate options make up a very small portion of the delicious, filling carbohydrates that are abundant today.
Remember that you can easily swap out bread and pasta for these alternatives:
While these options are affordable and easy to purchase at any grocery store, you can purchase specialty gluten-free breads and pastas to eat when you want something closer to the real thing.
2. You Don't Have to Get Rid of All Veggie Meats in Your Diet
If you eat a lot of vegetarian meat substitutes, then you may be alarmed to hear that some unfortunately do contain gluten. Thankfully, many also do not. Once you become a master of checking veggie meat labels for ingredients that contain gluten, you can begin checking labels to find the faux meats that are still safe for you to eat.
Some ingredients in veggie meats to avoid when gluten-free include:
Many veggie meat companies are expanding their lines to include items that are completely gluten-free. If you cannot find these products at your local grocery store, then you may have better luck at a health food store or online.
Remember that you can still eat tofu and beans as protein sources that are gluten-free. Also, vegetarian protein powders, such as pea protein powder, can come in handy.
Being diagnosed with celiac disease when you are already a vegetarian can be tough. Remember that you can still eat many of your favorite vegetarian foods when you check labels and shop around for options that are more suitable for your diet.